Sunday, November 28, 2010

Swope's Ridge


by Ace Collins
Zondervan Publishing

"September 12, 2001. Four members of the Klasser family are found dead outside Dallas, Texas. In the wake of 9/11, the Klassers’ neighbor, Omar Jones—an American citizen of Arab descent—is convicted of their murder.

A month before Jones’ execution, attorney Lije Evans searches for evidence that will prove the man innocent. But Evans’ quest goes deeper than solving one crime. He is determined to find the secret behind the dark history of sleepy Swope’s Ridge—and how it ties into his wife’s murder.

Interlocking mysteries lead Evans and his team to the battlegrounds of former Nazi Germany, the dirt roads of Kansas, and a rusty cargo ship in the Gulf of Mexico. Along the way, they discover a secret that offers the promise of great power—and the greatest temptation they’ve ever faced.

In the second book of the Lije Evans Mysteries series, bestselling author Ace Collins immerses readers in an intricate and deadly international plot. Racism, betrayal, and death-defying escapes compound an adventure that knows no bounds in this harrowing novel for suspense lovers everywhere."

Suspense at it's best!  Ace Collins sure knows how to write a book that his readers can not wait to read the next page.  This is book two in the two book series.  Book one, Farraday Road begins this story of murder, intrigue, and  international conspiracy.  For my review of Farraday Road click here.

If I thought the first book in the series was a page turner, then this book was a great ending to the story.  Although it was not the perfect ending to the book (in my opinion) it was really good.  I of course wish for happy endings in all the books I read. 

Price $ 15.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Farraday Road

by Ace Collins
Zondervan Publishing


"A quiet evening ends in murder on a muddy mountain road. Local attorney Lije Evans and his beautiful wife, Kaitlyn, are gunned down. But the killers don’t expect one of their victims to live. After burying Kaitlyn, Lije is on a mission to find her killer—and solve a mystery that has more twists and turns than an Ozark-mountain back road. When the trail of evidence goes cold, complicated by the disappearance of the deputy who found Kaitlyn’s body at the scene of the crime, Lije is driven to find out why he and his wife were hunted down and left for dead along Farraday Road. He begins his dangerous investigation with no clues and little help from the police. As he struggles to uncover evidence, will he learn the truth before the killers strike again?"
Once I started reading this book I was not able to put it down- literally. I stayed up late reading it.  Ace Collins has a special talent to pull the reader in to be part of the story.  I felt like I was on the "team" investigating the murder.  I did think there were a lot of people to keep track of and it was a little confusing because the author would refer to them by their last name sometimes and their first times at other times.

There were a couple of places I was confused, but I wonder if that was because I was sent an advance reader copy- where it is unedited.  I am sure that these few places were edited and corrected.
This is the first book in the two book series, so this book does not contain the ending- but I did read book two ,Swope's Ridge.  I had both the books so I could go right from one book to the next as I would suggest to you. 

Price $ 15.99  Purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my honest review.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Brown Paper Packages: Giveaway

One of my favorite blogs, Brown Paper Packages is having a giveaway this week!!


 They are giving away a $25 gift certificate for the Pleated Poppy! So run over there and sign up to win!


Christmas at the Harringtons

by Melody Carlson
Baker Publishing


Lena has just got out of prison, serving 8 years for a crime she did not commit.  The only thing she wants is a place to start over- where no one knows her or her past.  She is given a quite ugly outfit to wear, a few weeks of paid rent in a boarding house in an undesirable part of town, $65, and a recommendation for possible job opening.  How will the people of New Haven treat her when they find out her past?  Will she be able to be free from her past?

This book was a quick read- great for a busy Christmas season.  The farther I got in the book the more I wanted to read.  However I was disappointed in the abrupt ending.  It seemed the author had to wrap up the book and get it out to the publisher to meet a deadline.  I felt it needed a few more chapters to get to the point in the ending.  It seemed lacking and kind of out of place.

If you are looking for a quick read to get you in the Christmas spirit give this book a try!

Price:  $15.99 purchase from Revell Publishing

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

A Rush of Wings

by Kristen Heitzmann
Bethany House Publishing


"Though her panic is real, Noelle St. Claire is uncertain what danger she is fleeing. Fragmented images and slivers of memory have driven her to abandon her wealthy, sheltered life in New York for the hope of a haven—remote and safe.

Noelle's arrival at the Rocky Mountain horse ranch owned by Rick Spencer and his brother Morgan causes more than a little stir. Beautiful, vulnerable, yet strangely secretive, Noelle is an enigma the two contrasting brothers seek to unlock. But as their attentions breach the wall she hides behind, the past becomes a menacing threat from which Noelle can no longer hide."

A definite page-turner in my book!  I could not put this book down until I finished it.  Each page was filled with suspense- I just had to see what happened in the end! 

I really enjoy books that are well written and engaging.  It seems lately I have been selecting books that follow this pattern.  It is delightful to be able to read a book and be so immersed in the story that I can not put it down!
Noelle has some pretty major flashbacks during the course of the book which is the reason she fled her home in the first place.  There are so many levels to this book and so much that happens to Noelle, one can not help getting sucked into the story.


Price: $14.99
*I was sent a free copy of this book by the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.




Thursday, November 11, 2010

Hatteras Girl

by Alice J. Wisler
Bethany House Publishing


"Jackie Donovan prays for two things: an honest, wonderful man to marry and to own a bed-and-breakfast on the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. In the meantime, she works for Lighthouse Views, writing articles about local business owners, and intrepidly goes on the blind dates set up by her well-meaning but oh-so-clueless relatives.

There's one specific property Jackie dreams of purchasing: The Bailey House, a fabulous old home located right next to the ocean, a place where Jackie spent many happy childhood afternoons. But the Bailey House has strange stories and secrets surrounding it—not to mention its outrageous price tag.

When Jackie meets handsome Davis Erickson, who holds the key to the Bailey property, she believes God has answered both her prayers. But as Jackie learns some disturbing details about Davis's past, she begins to wonder if her heart has lead her astray. Will she risk her long-held dreams to find out the truth?"

Filled with surprises this book was fun for me to read.  I did not know what was going to happen, and could not guess the ending.  I know what I wanted to happen and was pleasantly surprised that it came to be!  I think this book was well written and that the author is very good.  It seems there are so many books out there with stories that are easy to guess their endings, however this book took a few turns I did not anticipate happening.  Great read!!  I want a book two- I want to find out more about Hatteras Girl!

Price: $14.99 purchase here.
*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

The Reluctant Entertainer

by Sandy Coughlin
Bethany House Publishing


"True hospitality is not about being perfect, cooking a fancy meal, or spending a lot of money. Rather, it's about an open door and an open heart. Popular blogger Sandy Coughlin offers a simple but savvy approach to help women break free of the anxieties that keep them from opening their homes. Emphasizing the forgotten goal of entertaining--connecting deeply with others--she shows how women can use the gifts and talents God gave them to reach out in love."

I like to entertain, I just do not do it very often.  After reading this book I realized how much I missed it.  This is a great book for everyone- no matter where you are in your entertaining.  There is something in this book for those of us that have entertained before those that are new to entertaining, and to those who have entertained for years.

Sandy Coughlin explains the meaning behind entertaining- what your guests get out of it and how to connect with your guests.  There are ideas for conversation starters, foods, places, and how to go about inviting.  I think my hang up about entertaining is that I can not do it all, my house is on the smaller side and if we were to invite another family over then we would be squished.  However, Coughlin explains that it doesn't matter how big or clean your home is, it is just important how you relate to your guests.  I know this is one book I will be keeping around and referencing for years to come.


Price: $17.99 buy here.
*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.



Sunday, October 31, 2010

Within My Heart

by Tamera Alexander
Bethany House Publishers




"Determined to fulfill her late husband's dream, Rachel Boyd struggles to keep her ranch afloat with the help of her two young sons. But some days it feels as though her every effort is sabotaged. When faced with a loss she cannot afford, she's forced to trust Rand Brookston, the one man in Timber Ridge she wishes to avoid. And with good reason. He's a physician, just like her father, which tells her everything she needs to know about him. Or so she thinks....

Dr. Rand Brookston ventured west with the dream of bringing modern medicine to the wilds of the Colorado Rockies, but the townspeople have been slow to trust him. Just as slow in coming is Rand's dream to build the town a proper clinic. When a patient's life is threatened, Rand makes a choice—one that sends ripples through the town of Timber Ridge. And through Rachel Boyd's stubborn heart."

I am battling a cold right now and stayed in bed most of the day.  Since I was resting I decided to read more of the book I started last night.  I literally could not put it down!  Although I did think it was a sequel to another book because some of my questions were not answered, but they were so few that it did not matter to me and the book was still good as a stand alone.  I was intrigued by the storyline as well as an understanding of the characters and their lives.  My heart broke along with the characters' when tragedy unfolded.  The book made me reflect upon my own life and my relationship with those I love and to realize how much they mean to me.

Price:  $14.99  buy now.

*I was sent a free copy of his book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest opinion.

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Masquerade

by Nancy Moser
Bethany House Publishing


"Charlotte Gleason embarks from England with conflicting emotions. She is headed for New York to marry one of America's wealthiest heirs--a man she has never even met. When her doubts gain the upper hand, she swaps identities with her maid Dora. She wants a chance at "real life," even if it means giving up financial security. For Charlotte, it's a risk she's willing to take. But what begins as the whim of a spoiled rich girl becomes a test of survival beyond her blackest nightmare. 

For Dora, it's the chance of a lifetime. She is thrust into a fairy tale amid ball gowns and lavish mansions, yet is tormented by the possibility of discovery--and humiliation. And what of the man who believes she is indeed his intended? Is this what her heart truly longs for?"

I just finished this book!  I loved it!  I felt like I was a part of the story.  I found myself wishing I could give Lottie and Dora advice.  It is a longer book then ones I have been reading, but I read it fairly quickly.  It is a good clean book .  The books talks about social classes in England and how they are in America.  There is some history of immigration to the United States in the book as well. 

I think that those who read this will love it and will learn a little history as well. 
Price: $ 14.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my review.

Love's First Bloom

by Delia Parr
Bethany House Publishing


"Life changes drastically for Ruth Livingstone the day her father puts a young child in her arms and sends her under an assumed name to a small village in New Jersey. There she dutifully awaits his acquittal, certain that her father, Reverend Livingstone, soon will be cleared of the outrageous accusations against him.

When tragic events transpire, Ruth finds solace tending a garden along the banks of the Toms River—a place where she can find a measure of peace amid her growing heartache. It is also here that she meets Jake Spencer, a man who both frustrates and intrigues her. Fearful of the newspapermen intent on tracking her down and unsure of whom to trust, Ruth knows she must carefully maintain her identity as Widow Malloy. But as love begins to slowly bloom, can the tenuous affection growing between Ruth and Jake withstand the secrets that separate them?"

I really enjoyed this book.  I found myself swept up in the life of Ruth and the fears she was facing.  The story was intriguing and thought provoking.  I thought what I would do if I were her.  I am not sure I could have been as patient as Ruth.

This book was written well and the characters were portrayed in such a manner they were easy to know and love.

Price:  $14.99 buy here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review from the publsiher.  I am not compensated for my review.

Monday, October 18, 2010

The Vigilante's Bride

by Yvonne Harris
Bethany House Publishing


"Robbing a stagecoach on Christmas Eve and abducting a woman passenger is the last thing Luke Sullivan expected to do. He just wanted to reclaim the money stolen from his pa, but instead ended up rescuing a feisty copper-haired woman who was on her way to marry Sullivan's dangerous enemy.

Emily McCarthy doesn't take kindly to her so-called rescue. Still, she's hoping Providence will turn her situation for good, especially when it seems Luke Sullivan may just be the man of her dreams. But Luke has crossed a vicious man, a powerful rancher not used to losing, and Emily is the prize he's unwilling to sacrifice."
 
This book was a quick and easy read.  I enjoyed it, but it reminded me more of a clean romance then anything deeper.  There was a little bit of Christianity in it, but not more then would be in a normal book- praying to God when in trouble.  It only took me a day or so to read because it was quite short.  I felt the characters could have been more developed.  I would like to have read more about what they were thinking-especially Emily and her feelings about the predicament she came to find herself in.

Price:  $14.99 to purchase click here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Friday, October 15, 2010

The Waiting

by Suzanne Woods Fisher
Revell Publishing


"She was waiting for love--and found it in the most unexpected place.
Jorie King's life is on hold. She has been waiting for Ben Zook to return to Lancaster County. Waiting for him to settle down and join the church. Waiting to marry him.
But when news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie is devastated. She finds unlikely comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. Friendship ripens into love, and two broken hearts plan for a life filled with the promise of a fresh beginning--until their worlds are turned upside down.
With her realistic characters whose weaknesses develop into strengthens, Suzanne Woods Fisher offers a reading experience that rises above the others. You will love growing in spirit with these complex people living the simple life as The Waiting transports you into a world where things aren't as simple as they seem."

Loved this book!!  I could not put it down.  I have read a number of books based on the Amish and this is one of my favorites.  I liked the fact that it was OK for women to have an opinion.  In most of the Amish books I have read the men have the final say no matter what their wife thinks. 
I am excited to read the next book in the series.  I did read the first book and my review for that one is here. 
I liked this one a lot better then the first one.

Price:  $14.99 purchase here.
*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

In Every Heartbeat

by Kim Vogel Sawyer
Bethany House Publishers


"As three friends who grew up in the same orphanage head off to college together, they each harbor a special plan for the future. Libby Conley hopes to become a famous journalist. Pete Leidig believes God has called him to study to become a minister. And Bennett Martin plans to pledge a fraternity, find a place to belong, and have as much fun as possible. But as tensions rise around the world on the brink of World War I, the friends' differing aspirations and opinions begin to divide them, as well.

When Libby makes a shocking discovery about Pete's family, will it drive a final wedge between the friends or bond them in ways they never anticipated?"

A fresh new book about friendship.  Even though I enjoyed this book, I felt the beginning quite boring.  I usually only take a couple of days to read a book, however this took me over a week, because it took me forever to get in to, but once the first several chapters were done the story became interesting.  I have a feeling there will be a sequel to the book because we do not  find out what happens to one of the friends-his ending per say. Good read.

Price:  $14.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

The House on Malcolm Street

by Leisha Kelly
Revell Publishing



"It is the autumn of 1920, and Leah Breckenridge is desperate to find a way to provide for her young daughter. After losing her husband and infant son, she is angry at God and fearful about the days ahead. Finding refuge in a boardinghouse run by her late husband's aunt, Leah begins the slow process of mending her heart.
Is it the people who surround her--or perhaps this very house--that reach into her heart with healing? As Leah finds peace tending to an abandoned garden, can she find a way to trust God with her future?"

I found the storyline intriguing, however as I read I was disappointed to find the story lacking- in all areas.  The author got you interested in the characters only to touch the surface with each of them.  The story lacked deeper meaning. I felt I really did not get to know any of the characters really well.  As I read on I hoped that the story would have some deeper message and that it would delve deeper into the characters- however I was sorely disappointed. When I read a book I like to get to know the character and feel as if I am understand their perspective in the story.  I was unable to read this book and feel any connection with any of the characters.


“Available September 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Price:  $14.99 to purchase click here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

The Way Home (DVD)

Thomas Nelson Publishing



"A missing child. A family in crisis. A faith tested. In their darkest hour, God gives hope.
Dean Cain stars as Randy Simpkins, a husband and father torn between the demands of his job and family. Asked by his wife to watch their two-year-old son, Joe, for a few minutes, he becomes distracted by work. When he returns, Joe is gone. He and his wife search desperately for their missing son through the vast countryside. But as their fear grows, the community responds – hundreds of supporters uniting behind the family in a powerful spiritual journey that will test the couple’s love and faith, and forever change a community."

We watched this on Monday for family night.  We should have got our box of tissues out before the movie started.  This is my worst nightmare:  that one of my children will become missing.  I watched the movie in suspense realizing in my heart that this was a true story, not based on a true story but the true story.  My stomach was in knots, but it was a good movie.  Yes, the acting was lacking-especially the gal who played the mom.  She seemed very calm and not upset at all that her two year old wondered off in the middle of the woods.  

The DVD contains the real people and the story behind the making of the movie.  It was very touching to see the actual parents and their true reactions. 

This is a must see for all dads-especially ones who think work is more important then their families.

*I was sent a free copy of this DVD from the publisher to watch and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

A Hope Undaunted

by Julie Lessman
Revell Publishing


"The 1920s are drawing to a close, and feisty Katie O'Connor is the epitome of the new woman--smart and sassy with goals for her future that include the perfect husband and a challenging career in law. Her boyfriend Jack fits all of her criteria for a husband--good-looking, well-connected, wealthy, and eating out of her hand. But when she is forced to spend the summer of 1929 with Luke McGee, the bane of her childhood existence, Katie comes face-to-face with a choice. Will she follow her well-laid plans to marry Jack? Or will she fall for the man she swore to despise forever?"
 
This book by Julie Lessman was a like/dislike.  Why?  I liked the basic storyline and the characters.  I did not like it because the story was too drawn out and the ending was weird and not developed enough to make it a smooth ending. I think that the story could have been edited down and not so long.  The last few chapters bounced back and forth between a happy ending and an unhappy ending leaving you guessing until the end.

Price: $14.99  Purchase here.

*I  was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my review.

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Choosing to SEE: A Journey of Struggle and Hope

by Mary Beth Chapman & Ellen Vaughn
Revell Publishing





I was not sure what to expect when I recieved this book.  I have tried to read other books that people have wrote about their experiences that were poorly written and uninteresting.  However this was NOT that kind of  book.  This book is well written, very interesting and pulled me in to her story.  After finishing this book I wanted to be her friend and get to know her more. 

Her story is not a happy one, but it tells her story~ how she has dealt with the death of a child.  It has been fairly recent~a little over 2 years.  I found myself wanting to comfort her and her family in their time of loss. 

Her story also involved adoption.  Since we are on our own adoption journey, although ours is domestic foster care, I felt I was able to connect and learn from their experiences.

She is able to give her grief to her Father in Heaven and let him help her through it.  Through this journey we are able to SEE how we can learn to give our troubles over to the Lord.

September 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group


*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Giveaway!!

One of my favorite blogs is doing a giveaway on her blog for some great Scentsy stuff. 

Check it out and enter to win, be sure to tell her I sent you!!

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

One Hands, Two Hands

by Max Lucado
Thomas Nelson Publishing



This is a very cute book for children.  My 5 year old daughter really liked and thought it was a good book.

One Hand, Two Hands illustrates that their hands are a gift from God.  Lucado shows that hands cando all sorts of things but they are best used to serve God by helping others. 

There are silly whimsical pictures, but the book ends with a prayer of thanks.  A very sweet book, it would make a nice baby gift.

*I was sent a free copy of this book by the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest opinion.

The Boy Who Changed the World

by Andy Andrews
Thomas Nelson Publishing



The Boy Who Changed the World is a very profound book.  I read it to my children and my husband was in the room. We all talked about it afterward-how what you do and the choices you make can make a big difference.  The boy in the story did not make a difference at the time but later on influenced many others.

I think this book should be in every home.  It shows children that their decisions really do make a difference, no matter how small.  No matter what they think, this book will help them understand that one person really can make a difference.

I encourage my readers to purchase a book for yourselves or one as a gift for the child in your life.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review, as always I am not compensated for my review.

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Brown Paper Packages Giveaway!!

One of my favorite blogs I follow is Brown Paper Packages.

She is so creative!  I have no creative bones in my body but I think everyone of hers is creative!! 

Right now she is doing a giveaway from Poppy Seed Projects.  

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Amish Proverbs GIVEAWAY!!!

by Suzanne Woods Fisher
Revell Publishing



This is such a beautiful book!  My husband even picked it up and look through it and found a fun proverb:

"There is one thing more exasperating than a wife who can cook and won't, and that's the wife who can't cook and will." (page 201)

No, I am not a bad cook, he just thought that was so funny.

My grandma always says, "The squeaky wheel gets the grease."  I love this proverb.  If you keep asking, or haggling or looking for whatever you need you will find it.

Price: $13.99

*I was sent a free copy (and a free copy to give away) to read and review.  The opinions on this blog are my honest opinions and I am not compensated for the review.

To win your very own copy of this beautiful book please leave your favorite proverb (or saying).  Make sure you leave your email as well so I can contact you if you win!  I will give you an extra entry if you get a friend to come and leave a favorite saying~ just make sure you leave another comment saying you sent them!  I will randomly select a winner Monday August 30th.



Let's Do Lunch

by RogerWilson
Thomas Nelson Publishing




Very rarely do I finish a book on "dieting."  Usually diet books are full of scientific facts, psychological mumbo jumbo.  Don't get me wrong I do not believe that science and psychology are junk, but when you want to lose weight, you want to do it NOW.  I would get discouraged reading the stupid book~ and go off the diet before I even finished the book!!  Not with this book.  Not only did I finish the book but I did so in 2 days! 

Wilson writes about what he learned when we lost his massive amount of weight.  He told the readers what to eat, not why it scientifically worked that way.  There was no psychological basis, just the facts.  He is giving his readers what they need, a way to change their diets forever.

I am so excited to start this new eating plan.  I will keep you updated as to how things are going.  I need to go buy grapes first!

*I was sent this book as part of the book sneeze review program.  I am not compensated in any way for my honest review.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Cast of Characters

by Max Lucado
Thomas Nelson Publishing

"Some of the most powerful stories from the Bible will come alive for today’s readers through these
inspiring selections from the writings of Max Lucado. Max provides a compelling look at the most
high-impact moments in the biblical narrative, drawn from his previous 20+ years of writing.
At the end of each chapter will be study guide questions so the reader can go deeper into this
scripture.

Extraordinary stories are told about the following characters:
Mary, Peter, Matthew, Joseph, Nicodemus, Woman at the Well, David, Esther, Job, The Samaritan Woman, John, Rich Young Man."

I have read a number of Max Lucado's works.  Most of them I have found to be wonderful and profound.  However this book felt wrong.  I picked it up to read today.  I was disappointed and a little upset at the way Lucado portrayed the Bible and Biblical characters.  I felt he was trying to fit in with today's hip way of life.  I have respect and reverence for my Father in Heaven and the Holy Scriptures.  I felt that the respect and reverence that the Bible demands was not there.  It was almost callous in the way it was written.  I was unable to read the entire book, because of the uneasiness that I found from reading the small bit I did.  Maybe this book will appeal to others in a way it did not to me.


Price: $14.99
*I was sent a copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am  not compensated for my honest opinion.

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Offworld

by Robin Parrish
Bethany House Publishing



Okay, so yesterday I was reading this book and told Brian what a great book it was.  He asked me what it was about.  I told him it was about these 4 astronauts that went on a 2 1/2 year mission to Mars and when they came back EVERYONE in the world was gone.  I happened about 2 months before their return~ the same time they lost contact with NASA.  So as they are traveling to this bright light in Houston from Florida, they find a homeless gal (about 19 or so)~ the only person alive.  Not knowing what to think they took her with them.

  Brian was shocked he said, "Your are reading science fiction?"  I told him I was and it was soooo good and they needed to make it into a movie! (I never read sci-fi).

Well this morning I finished it and while it was really good, I can not tell you any more.  It will spoil the ending for you if I tell you more then what I told you already.  But even if you are not into sci-fi (like me) you should try to read it.  Only took me about 5 hours to read!
Loved it!

Price $14.99  purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Though Waters Roar

by Lynn Austin
Bethany House Publishing


"Thank goodness you're such a plain child. You'll have to rely on your wits."
So went the words of Grandma Bebe. And for all of my growing-up years, I scoffed at the beauty of my sister and what I saw as her meaningless existence. But my wits hadn't served me well in this instance, for here I was, in jail. And while I could have seen it as carrying on the family tradition (for Grandma Bebe landed in jail for her support of Prohibition), the truth is, my reasons for being here would probably break her heart.
So how did I end up becoming a criminal? I've been pondering that question all night. Perhaps the best way to search for an answer is to start at the very beginning."

One girl's story intertwined with her grandmother's life story.  This truly is a unique story of courage and trusting God with our lives.  There is quite a bit of history in the book that I was able to glean.  I found myself hoping and wishing for good to happen from Bebe as her life was so hard..  It was easy to follow a long, although I did find it a bit long and hard to get into in the beginning.

Price: $ 13.99 purchase from the publisher.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review from the publisher.  I am not compensated for my honest opinion.


Granola Bar and Fruit Snacks GIVE AWAY!


My friend Janet from Simply Schooling Mom is having a giveaway from Costco.  She is giving away a huge box of granola bars, real fruit roll up snacks, and a $25 gift card to Costco. To enter go here.
Thank you Janet!!

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Amazing Adventures, Creative Connections, & Daring Deeds:

40 Ideas That Put Feet to Your Family's Faith 

by Tim & Alison Thompson

Nav Press Publishing


"Say good-bye to passive family devotions! The energy and creativity of these 40 activities, which can be adapted to all ages, is a great resource for individual families or for churches with family and inter-generational ministries.

Instead of reading a verse that is soon forgotten, you and your kids will engage in activities both inside and outside the home that demonstrate biblical faith in action. The result? Seeing how you can live as disciples whatever your sphere of influence.

Each of the 40 activities includes a creative introduction, a brief exploration of a Bible passage, and active ideas for applying biblical truth

This great discipleship and outreach tool includes age-appropriate discussion questions and activities for age four through teens."

I read this book and am really excited!  I think this would be great devotions or Family Home Evenings to do with the family.  I plan on using it once a week in our home school this coming year as a devotional.

Each chapter contains  an introduction message about the chapter~the topic.
There is also a Reaching In section where you would reach in to your own family and discuss various questions.  Reaching Into the Word in the next section~  a scripture is given and various questions based on children's ages to discuss.  The last section is the Reaching Into the World~ service based ideas to help others in the community.

Price: $ 12.99 go here to purchase

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  This review is my honest opinion which I am not compensated for.

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Growing With Purpose

by Jon Walker
Zondervan Publishing


"Spend a year exploring God's purpose for your life. This thought-provoking, yet practical one-year devotional will help you understand that God's grace is the most powerful tool for change in your life. In this time of uncertainty and fear, Growing with Purpose teaches that God's perfect love drives out all fear. It's a fresh look at biblical truth that will strengthen your faith and encourage you to trust that God's promises are as certain as the sun coming up tomorrow. You'll find yourself reading it over and over again, growing with purpose and in intimate pursuit of God every day. Spend a year exploring God's purpose for your life ... spend a lifetime connected to the heart of God. Learn more about author Jon Walker's ministry" here.

For those of you who enjoy reading a page a day in a devotional fashion with really like this book.  I find that I do not like them as much.  I  feel guilty if I do not read everyday.  But, this would be good if you do devotionals for homeschooling or with your family.  Very upbeat with scriptures to read along with the message.  
This is a Christian based book.

Price: $18.99 click to purchase.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Blind Hope GIVE AWAY!!

by Kim Meeder & Laurie Sacher
Multomah Publishing


This was a very powerful book and true story.  I enjoyed it immensely.  It is a quick read (with pictures of sweet Mia), but also amazing.  Readers will learn so much about loving themselves and trusting God.  This book is a message of hope to all of us who struggle from time to time. I guarantee you will be a changed person after reading this book.

When Laurie decides to rescue a mangy sick dog, she had no idea her life would change more then her dog's.  After Mia goes blind Laurie has to train the dog to hear her voice.  She realizes she needs to listen for God to tell the direction she needs to go as well.

"Coming to a book retailer new year July 2010."

Price $13.99 to purchase go here.

* I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest opinion.


I have a brand new copy from the publisher to give away on my blog.  Here is how to enter to win you very own copy!!
For each of the following you will get one entry.  Maker sure you leave me a  note on how to get a hold of you if you win.

1.  Become a follower of my blog.

2. Tell me why you would like this book.

3.  Get a friend to become a follower of my blog.

I will randomly select the winner on Saturday July 10th 9pm MST

Sunday, July 4, 2010

The Silent Gift

by Michael Landon Jr, & Cindy Kelley
Bethany House Publishing


There are so many layers to this book.  I was intrigued, angry, hopeful, and sad during the reading of this book.  I must say the authors are fabulous writers! There was such depth to the story and many layers to the main character.

"The decade of the 'thirties was a time of enormous uncertainty--for the world, for America, and in particular for one lonely, struggling mother and her disabled son. Their story is one of unyielding love and incredible sacrifices in the face of circumstances beyond belief. 

But then The Gift appears where has it come from, and why? How can a young boy who cannot communicate provide comfort and direction to seekers who learn of the special ability? Whatever the source, its presence brings a single shaft of light and hope to Mary to her beloved son, Jack. Will it be enough?"

I could not put this book down.  I stayed up until after 1am (I am an early to bed kind of gal) so that says a lot.  I am not sure I would have picked this book up to read if I had not been given an opportunity to review it.  It is not usually a type of book I read, but this was so well written and kept me reading on and on to the end.  Thank you!!

Price $ 13.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Monday, June 28, 2010

GIVEAWAY!!

I am giving a brand new copy of One Day Way away to one of my lucky readers. 


For some reason when I posted it, the date changed to March, so it is not on the front page of my blog.  To see the instructions click here.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Fit to Be Tied

by Robin Lee Hatcher
Zondervan Publishing


Unbeknown to me this is the second in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series.  I really dislike reading sequels when I have not read the first book.  I was able to understand the plot, but did not get a lot of the background needed to understand the characters in detail. There is also a third book in the series coming out 2010.

Cleo is a girl comfortable on a ranch and around horses.  She dislikes wearing dresses and is more comfortable in a pair of jeans.

Lord Sherwood is sent from London to live in Idaho for a year to earn his keep and understand work.  He has a war injury and is need of learning the value of hard work.

Lord Sherwood, or Woody as Cleo calls him, begins working as a ranch hand on Cleo's family ranch.  She despises him and wishes she did not have to train him.  However as time passes she finds herself becoming more interested in him, but will royalty and a ranch girl be able to be together?  You will have to read this book to find out.

Price: $14.99 Click here to purchase.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Through the Fire

by Shawn Grady
Bethany House Publishing


Since his father's death  in a fire, firefighter Aiden O'Neill is determined to find out who the arsonist was in that fateful fire.  Aiden has a gift of being able to read fires, but after he caused a fellow firefighter to be seriously injured during a fire, he seems to have lost his gift.

An arsonist is on the loose, causing major fires and death in his wake.  Aiden and Julianne, a fire analyst, are teaming up to discover who is behind the fires.  I guarantee the end will surprise you.

I enjoyed the story line, but some of the writing was out of character of the rest of the book.  There were paragraphs that were almost poetic~ but forced and did not reflect the other parts of the book.  I also got confused in several places as new characters were introduced.  The parts about God and Christianity seemed forced and put in as an afterthought. 

Price $ 13.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review from the publisher.  I am not compensated for my honest opinion.

Monday, June 21, 2010

How to Act Right When Your Spouse Acts Wrong

by Leslie Vernick
WaterBrook Multnomah

 Experience the Blessings of an Imperfect Marriage. We all–at one time or another–have the opportunity to act right when our spouse acts wrong. There are no perfect marriages or perfect spouses. We know that having a good marriage requires effort and hard work. Yet we often don’t know how to continue to love when we are angry, hurt, scared, or just plain irritated. Nor are we sure what that kind of love is supposed to look like. Should we be patient? Forgive and forget? Do something else entirely?


Acting right when your spouse acts wrong will not necessarily guarantee a more satisfying marital relationship, nor will it automatically make your spouse change his or her ways–although both could occur. It will, however, help you see how God is stretching you in the midst of your marital difficulties, teach you to respond wisely when wronged, and lead you into a deeper relationship with Christ as you yield your will to his plan for your life and learn to be more like him.


Price: $ 6.99 to buy

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to review.  I am not compensated for my review.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Somewhere to Belong

Book one in the Daughters of Amana series
by Judith Miller
Bethany House Publishing


I had a hard time with this book, it takes place in the Amana colonies. I am unfamiliar with this religion (the author does not even explain what religion this is) and so was confused why any one would want to join these people.  Also, it said that being single was better then being married, however it was not forbidden.  One of the girls was punished for not keeping the other girl in line~ seems unkind.  I wished the author explained more about the religion.

The story is about two young women.  One has lived in Amana her whole life, and the other has just moved there from Chicago.  It goes through several months of various happenings of the girls.

I think I would have liked the book better with more explanation of the community.  It is also book one in a series as the ending of this book does not explain what happens to one of the girls.  I dislike having to read another book to find out the conclusion.


Price:  $14.99 to purchase.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

Levi's Will

By W. Dale Cramer
Bethany House Publishing


Winner of the 2006 Christy Award for Contemporary Fiction

"Dusk. An Amish farm in Ohio. Will's father doesn't recognize him at first--it's been eight years--so he holds a match up to Will's face to see him better. "I thought you were dead," Levi Mullet says, then blows out the match and walks away. 

This is not how it's supposed to be. Where's the fatted calf? The party?

For years, Will has worked to overcome the ban of his father and the Old Order Amish community. Only now, when the life of his own son hangs in the balance, does he begin to see the truth--that love is the proof of God, and forgiveness the proof of love.

Levi's Will is the mesmerizing story of an Amish man seeking to build a bridge across three generations."


 I tried reading this book twice~ and I still could not get in to the book.  I found it dragging and long.  I am sorry I could not give any other opinion.  Very rarely do I not finish a book~ but this one was one of the few.


Price:  $ 13.99 to purchase go here.

*I was sent a free copy  of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my honest opinion.

Out of the Spin Cycle

by Jen Hatmaker
Revell Publishing


MOPS 2010 Theme Devotional book.

This book is divided into 40 chapters or devotionals.  They are short~ about a page or two.  Perfect for a quick read each day.  Jen Hatmaker makes motherhood fun and also gives us the spiritual boost we need from our Savior, Jesus Christ.

There are questions & activity suggestions at the end of each chapter to encourage readers to think about the chapter they just read.

I think the reason for me not enjoying this book is because I was reading it straight through to review, instead of one chapter each day or week.  I did not have the time devoted to dive deeper in to the book.


Price:  $11.99  purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my honest opinion.

Fit For My King

by Sheri Rose Shepherd
Baker Publishing Group


In this 30 day journey, the bestselling author of His Princess shares how God healed her from an eating disorder, helped her conquer chronic fatigue, and gave her the strength and wisdom to lose over sixty pounds and keep it off. Today, at nearly 50 years old, Sheri Rose is healthy and free. More than a half a million women have been set free through this life changing teaching.

You can win this diet war once and for all! Sheri Rose Shepherd walks through each day with you, supporting you with 30 days of life changing devotions, heartwarming stories, creative cooking, and a daily dose of Scripture to keep you on track. The treasures of truth found in these pages will transform the way you see yourself forever.

It's time to get your girlfriends together and become the best version of you! God loves you and will be with you every step of the way.

 Price: $ 14.99 purchase here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher for me to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my honest opinion.

Momology

A Mom's Guide to Shaping Great Kids
By Shelly Radic
Revell Publishing





As a mother we all need support from one another.  Momology : A guide to Shaping Great Kids is designed to give moms a helping hand with mothering.  Shelly Radic is chief of staff for MOPS international.

Each of the four sections is broken in to several subsections.  here are also various real life "field studies" to help along the way. 

I had a hard time with this book.  Most of the book is about improving one's self as a mother.  I really had a hard time getting in to it.  I though it was going to be a book about giving our children values and helping them in the world today and shaping their character.  I also found it to be dry and unappealing.  It was text bookish.  However you may discover this book is exactly what you are looking for.

Price:  $13.99 to purchase

*I received this book for free from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.

A Love of Her Own

by Maggie Brendan
Revell Publishing




Maggie Brendan is a wonderful author.  In the third book of the Heart of the West series she brings Josh's sister, April, to Montana~ just in time for his wedding to Juliana.  I have read book two, The Jewel of His Heart to read my review click here.  Although this is book two, it can be a stand a lone one.  I have not had the chance to read the first one, but I did fine reading the next two.

April is finished with love after her heart was broken several years ago.  When she receives word from Josh, her brother in Montana, that he is getting married she decides she is ready for a change of scenery for a couple of weeks and leaves to go to Montana.  

While in Montana she has a number of crazy adventures.  She may find Montana to her liking especially when considering a certain gook looking man.

A delightful read.  I wished I could have read it closer to her last book, but after I got in to the book I remembered some of the people from the previous book~ although you would clearly understand the book without reading book 2.


Price:  $14.99 to buy go to Revell Publishing

*I received this book for free from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way and this is my opinion.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

The Homecoming

by Dan Walsh
Revell Publishing


This is a sequel to The Unfinished Gift, which I also read and reviewed.  To read my review go here. Dan Walsh is a great writer.  I enjoyed this book because I connected to the characters from the first book and wanted to see more.  I am hoping Walsh will do another book in this series.

Shawn Collins has come home from fighting overseas to spend some time with his son and to grieve for the loss of his wife.  However the military has another plan in mind.  He is called to be a speaker on a tour to raise money for the war effort.  It is all very exciting, but Shawn really just wants to be home with Patrick, his son.  He will be gone for at least four months, so he needs to hire a nanny/housekeeper.  He decides to hire Miss. Townsend, the social worker that brought Patrick to his Grandpa's house. Miss. Townsend loves Patrick and finds herself falling in love with Shawn.  Will Shawn find love again?




*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated for my honest review.