Wednesday, December 23, 2009

3 P Learning / Mathletics

Website Membership

We love this website!  Instead of doing math in the book we opted for several days to have Ben do the Mathletics website.  He thought it was so fun, he did not want to stop!


3P Learning, the home of Mathletics, is a web-based math service, providing children a chance to compete with students from around the world, or to rack up points by working through grade-specific content, which includes step-by-step animated support. There is access to additional games at Rainforest Maths, and the students get to go shopping for clothing and backgrounds for their character with the credits they earn from many of the above activities. There are also games that reinforce math concepts. In other words, the students have a variety of ways to interact with math.







I really liked that my child is able to do certain math problems in areas that they may need help in.  For example if Ben needed more practice in fractions there is a whole section all about fractions.  The kids can earn points for certificates.  They can also compete in points earned with kids all around the world.




Mathletics is an internet subscription based product, with a price of $59 per student per year. If you know the Human Calculator’s favorite number (hint: it’s ‘9’!) and you enter that when asked, you can purchase a single child subscription for $49.95 for a year at their website.




* We received a 45 day free trial to use in order to review it.  (from the TOS crew).

Tektoma



Do you or your children want to learn to make a video game?


My children sure do!  They have always wanted to make their own video game.  I think all boys do nowadays.


Tektoma offers:


*Engaging video tutorials for ages 7-17


*Tutorials of varying skill levels and topics


*Learn at your own pace in the comfort of your home


*Natural progression helps develop technical skills


*Customize your learning experience


*Low monthly membership fee gives access to all our resources


*New curriculums available monthly
   
 
Requirements:




• Windows XP or Vista (Mac versions coming in the future)


• Broadband internet connection


• For GameMaker tutorials, you need a copy of GameMaker software installed.(Lite edition is available for free.)

 
You can learn to design a racing game, arcade game, platform game and/or adventure game.
 
I have two boys ages 9 and 13.  They usually only get about 30 minutes of computer time per day.  Since we have had access to this website my boys have been begging for extra time to use this.  They each are making a game.  They are having so much fun and are using their imagination to come up with what they want in their game.
 
This is what Sonny (our 13 son) has to say,
 
"My first game was a memory game called 'Whats New'. The object was to click on the shape that just came up.  Programming the game was the most time consuming, but the most important. The tutorial was very disciptive.  It said why the programming worked the way it did.  I finished the game.  Now I am working on an arcade style game with the Legend of Zelda character Link.  My brother is creating a Mario-like platform game.  The tutorials last between a little over an hour to a little over two hours. 
 


Price~ $14.95 month or $140 per year.   There is also a free 14 day trial.



Monday, December 7, 2009

All About Spelling




Are you tired of looking for a good spelling program?  Do you wants something easy but effective? Then look no farther then

I have tried other spelling programs, but either they were not very effective, or way too complicated for me to teach (I do have other subjects to teach besides spelling).  Last year my friend, Janet, got to review this program for TOS.  I looked through it and red her review.  I wanted to buy it but then found out I got on the TOS crew.  I hoped I would be chosen to review it and I was!!

I am using level one at the moment for my nine year old, Ben.  Although Ben does okay in spelling he does make some common mistakes.  I have been looking for a good spelling program that will teach spelling in a way that Ben will remember. 


 

All About Spelling works because:

*It is Multisensory~Children are physically involved in each lesson with sight, sound, and touch.

*It is Logical~Each lessons builds upon the previous lesson.  Each lesson is presented in an orderly manner.

*There are No Gaps~You child will not be left without gaps or holes in their spelling education.  Everything included.

*It is Mastery Based~This program is not based on grade level a child moves on when they have mastered the current concept.

*Has Continual Review~when children are taught a new concept they also review material that they have already learned.

*The progam is Clear~Lessons are taught it a forthcoming manner, no need for children to guess.

*Best of all~ it has Scripted Lesson Plans (this is what makes it easy for parents).



Price:


Starter Kit (Letter tiles, magnets, Phonogram CD-ROM)
Necessary for teaching Levels 1 to 6   $26.95

Level 1 Teacher's manual and one student material packet $29.95

Levels 2-5 are $39.95

Level 6 coming soon!




Sunday, December 6, 2009

Christmas Dog

by Melody Carlson




This was such a fun story to read.  I sas not too sure about it at first.  I was afraid it might be kind of corny, but I really enjoyed it.

Christmas Dog is about a lonely woman, Betty.  She has no one to spend the holidays with.  She detests her neighbor who insists on tearing apart his house and leaving it on his lawn~making an eyesore of the place.

Out of the blue a mangy dog appears and Betty learns what Christmas is all about.

This book is about forgiveness, learning to not judge others, and love.  Betty finds all of these things and more.



To read an excerpt from the book please click here.

*I was sent a free copy of the book from Revell to read and review.  I am not compensated and am not required to write a positive review.

The Unfinished Gift

by Dan Walsh





If you only read one Christmas book this year you have to read this one!  Dan Walsh will make you cry, laugh, and get that Christmas spirit lit up inside of you.  The unfinished Gift is about a grieving little boy and a grandfather who takes him in. 

The grandfather, Ian, has a lot of anger in him.  The boy's father is his son.  They have not spoken in many years.  When Ian yells at his grandson, Patrick, the boy wants to run away~ so he does.

Will Ian find his grandson in time?  Will Ian and Patrick find love with each other?  Cans a box of letters and an old wooden soldier help Ian to forgive?  This was a great book to read to help me realize the true meaning of the season.


If you would like to read an excerpt from this book please click here.

*I was given a free copy of the book from Revell to read and review.  I am in no way compensated and am not required to leave a positive review.

An excerpt from Finding Christmas

by James Calvin Schaap
 

"Stories of Startling Joy and Perfect Peace"

  To read an excerpt from the book please click here.

 


  *I was not given a copy to read and review,  I am only offering you to read the excerpt.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

AVKO membership

AVKO Membership





AVKO is a non profit organization that helps teachers and parents in teaching children with dyslexia how to read, write, and type. Their approach specializes in multisensory learning.  No matter if your child has dyslexia or not, this website membership can be beneficial to you as a parent.


None of my children show sighns of dyslexia, so I am writing my review according to that.  If your child does, you will probably glean much more from their website then I was able to.


Also, if you use Sequential Spelling this is the website for you, there are a lot of resources for this program with a membership.




What does a BASIC membership to AVKO include?


Benefits of AVKO Basic Membership~


*Discounts on AVKO printed materials


*Hundreds of dollars worth of FREE e-books (PDF)


*The Patterns of English Spelling (All 10 Volumes) with Word Families in Sentence Context


*To Teach a Dyslexic


*Starting at Square One


*The Teaching of Reading & Spelling: a Continuum from Kindergarten through College.


*The Reading Teacher's List of Over 5,500 Basic Spelling Words


*Access to the Member Only section


*AVKO Newsletter with freebies, discounts, resources, and promotions


*Access to Don McCabe's most popular workshop recordings in MP3 format.


*Supplemental Curriculum Materials including word games, worksheets, activities, and more!


*Access to Pretests and Placement Tests


*Access to the Answer Keys for the Unscramblers and Family Reunion exercises of the Engaging Language Kits


**Price is $25.00 a year for the basic membership.






There is also a DELUXE membership as well~


Benefits of AVKO Deluxe Membership:




(Institutional Membership is open to individuals as well as tutoring centers, schools, learning centers, homeschool resource centers, etc.)


*Access to all of the benefits of AVKO's Basic Membership


*25% discount off all materials ordered


*Read-only access to ALL AVKO curriculum materials (except for Sequential Spelling and Engaging Language Kits)


*Access to AVKO's newest e-books:


*Word Family Supplements 1-7 for Sequential Spelling


*Spelling Remediation Test Kit


**Price for Deluxe membership is $100 per year.




I did not find very much on the website that we would use in our homeschool.  We were given a one year basic membership in order to review.  I found a few of the things on there unnecessary and a few rather inappropriate.  But as you work your way through the humor section etc... you as a parent can weed out th few things you may not deem appropriate for your family.


There were a few things like the puzzles and quizzes we thought were fun.  If you use Sequential Spelling then this would be the perfect website for you.  There are lots of extras for this program.


There is also a freebie section that you can take advantage of even without the membership.  There are many ebooks, forms, and help available for your child.


Other TOS crew members post their reviews here.





Monday, November 16, 2009

Exploramania

GyMathtics DVD



Exploramania is a cmpany comitted to teach children to become fit and healthy.  The GyMathtics DVD is one of their Exploracise products.

GyMathtics is a DVD fitness program which also reinforces math concepts.  It uses visual, auditory, and kinesthetic learning to teach children fitness and math.

I used this DVD with my 9 year old, 4 year old and with my day care kids 4,4, and 1.  The little kids enjoyed it eventhough they did not understand the math concepts.  My 9 year old son thought it was fun the first and second time, but soon lost interest.  Occasionally he will want to do it.

I am really not impressed with this.  I felt it was kind of cheesy.  The math concepts were geared for older kids but my son did not really get much out of it.  My preschoolers liked it better.

If your child is a kinesthetic learner I think it would be beneficial to them.  My child is not, so it did not mean the same to me as it would if my son was.

Price~ $24.95

Other TOS crewmembers' reviews are here.

*I was sent a free DVD to review.  I do not receive compensation for my reviews and am not required to write a positive review.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

FREE Holiday book from TOS!!

2009 Holiday Digital Supplement/Idea Book


Click on above picture to get your own FREE copy!!

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Fall Fiction Blog Tour

Leaving Carolina
by Tamara Leigh
Multnomah Publishing

Piper Wick left Pickwick, North Carolina over a decade ago.  She now lives in CA as a public relations consultant for the Big Whigs.  Her boyfriend is running for office and Piper does not want anything to happen to dampen his chances.   Unfortunately her family from Pickwick is in need for her services. 
Piper's uncle is about to let the cat out of te bag about all of the black sheep of the family~ which is nearly everyone.  Piper can not let her family ruin her name or her boyfriend's career.

This was a cute book.   I enjoyed it as a fun read.  I did not really find much in common with this book, so it was more of a fun read for me.  

  Does Piper learn to find peace with her "crazy" family and find true love?  Purchase your book for these answers here. 

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way and am not required to write a positive review.


What Matters Most Diary of a Teenage Girl
by Melody Carlson
Multnomah Publishing

"Sixteen-year-old Maya Stark has a lot to sort through. She could graduate from high school early if she wants to. She’s considering it, especially when popular cheerleader Vanessa Hartman decides to make her life miserable–and Maya’s ex-boyfriend Dominic gets the wrong idea about everything."

"To complicate matters even more, Maya’s mother will be released from prison soon, and she’ll want Maya to live with her again. That’s a disaster waiting to happen. And when Maya plays her dad’s old acoustic guitar in front of an audience, she discovers talents and opportunities she never expected. Faced with new options, Maya must choose between a “normal” life and a glamorous one. Ultimately, she has to figure out what matters most."

What an intense book.  I personally do not have  a teen girl, but I hope my daughter's life will never be this complicated.

To purchase this book click here.


*I was sent a free copy of this book from the publisher to read and review.  I am not compensated and I am not required to write a positive review.

Limelight
by Melody Carlson

"Claudette Fioré used to turn heads and break hearts. She relished the glamorous Hollywood lifestyle because she had what it takes: money, youth, fame, and above all, beauty. But age has withered that beauty, and a crooked accountant has taken her wealth, leaving the proud widow penniless and alone."


"Armed with stubbornness and sarcasm, Claudette returns to her shabby little hometown and her estranged sister. Slowly, she makes friends. She begins to see her old life in a new light. For the first time, Claudette Fioré questions her own values and finds herself wondering if it’s too late to change."

Everyone must re-evaluate their life, especially when things do not turn out the way we would want.

To purchase this book click here.



*I was sent a free copy of this book to review.  I am not compensated and I am not required to write a positive review.

Swiss Courier

by Tricia Goyer & Mike Yorkey
Revell Publishing


I LOVED this book.  I hope that the authors make more books from WWII.  There was not a bunch of romance, refreshing to say the least.  Intrigue and spies, I am not sure I ever would have ever picked out this book for myself but it was so good. 


 I just finished it last night.  I can not keep thinking about it.  SO GOOD!!

Taking place in Switzerland 1944, during WWII, Gabi, who is half Swiss and half American, works for the OSS doing translations.  She also has a rare talent~she is a safe cracker.  Gabi is asked to do crack a safe to retrieve some very important documents.  From there she becomes involved in a bigger more important job.

Joseph Engel works at the University.  He is working on a top secret German war weapon (the atom bomb).  Gestapo agents uncover that he is a Jew.  The race is on to see who will get to him first the Americans or the Gestapo.

I implore you to read this book.  You will NOT be disappointed.


*I recieved a free copy from the publisher to read and write my review.  I am not compensated in any other way and am not required to write a positive review.

“Available October 2009 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Things Worth Remembering

by Jackina Stark
Bethany House Publishing



Kendy and her daughter, Maisey, used to do everything together a mother and dughter could do.  Now, they barely even talk.  This weekend Maisey is getting married.  Kendy wishes things were different.  She would love to be involved in the wedding preparations.  Maisey has not shared anything with her mother about the wedding.

What happened between mother and daughter?  What went wrong? Things Worth Remembering is about the week leading up to the wedding.  Daily Kendy worries about the stressful situation she is in.  When Maisey reveals the secret that she has kept for so long and is what is keeping the distance between her mother and herself, will all be well?  Or will it be worse?

Reading this book, I pondered the relationship I have with my mom.  She and I are very close.  I am happy to say that our relationship was good as I was growing up as well. 

I was saddened by the big "secret" that kept Maisey from continuing a relationship with her mom.  I  hope those that read this book, will realize that the mistakes we make can effect our children in ways that we may never realize.

Monday, November 9, 2009

American Heritage


American's Heritage~an adventure in liberty
The American Heritage Education Foundation, Inc.


The American Heritage Education Foundation "AHEF is a non-profit, non-partisan educational foundation dedicated to the understanding and teaching of America's factual and philosophical heritage to promote constructive citizenship and Freedom, Unity, Progress, and Responsibility among our students and citizens.


AHEF accomplishes this patriotic mission by writing, producing, and distributing FREE K-12 lesson plans to teachers, students, and families in all 50 states and through additional initiatives, programs, and partnerships."


America's Heritage: An Adventure in Liberty is a K-12 teacher lesson plan resource. When we received the CD in the mail I was so excited. We are learning about American History this year and this fit in nicely. There are grades K-12 on the CD, so it is easy to teach American Heritage to all of your children using the same program.


All lessons are based on the themes: unity, freedom, progress, and responsibility. What I really like about this program is it does not have the children spit out facts, but helps the students think, explore, and understand the importance of liberty in United States history.


Price: CD Rom is FREE
Binder is $19.50 per level.


Here is what other TOS crew members thought about it as well.

A Young Scholar's Guide to Composers


A Young Scholar's Guide to Composers
by Bright Ideas


A Young Scholar's Guide to Composers is a year long curriculum study of various composers through out time.
This one year program does not cover all of the composers, but gives a great variety of especially the main ones. This study includes classical composers as well as modern ones.


There are activities to go along with each composer as well as cards to print out to learn more. The only thing not included in this program is the music itself. This is a drawback for me, as I had to find the various selections myself. Luckily we have a huge selection of classical music and I was able to find several. Obviously we have not finished this program because we have only been using it for a little over a month. we look forward to the rest of the program. I appreciated the way it was very thorough and had some interesting activities.


We really enjoy this and look forward to trying some of the other books in the young Scholar series.


A Young Scholar's Guide to Composers is geared for children in grades 4-8. I did use this for Ben too and he is in 3rd grade.


The CD Rom is priced at $29.95
The Paper book is priced at $34.95


*I was sent a download of this program for free. I am not compensated in anyway and am not required to give a positive review.

Sunday, November 8, 2009

ACT Advantage DISCOVER


Career Planning Program





DISCOVER is a career planning program designed for career counselors, but used by students. Students are able to assess their interests, values, and abilities.

With DISCOVER students are able to explore various career paths. Students are able to uncover what they migh want to be "when they grow up." It is not a guessing game, DISCOVER is a well researched program to help high school students along their career paths.

DISCOVER has not only an up to date data base filled with occupations, (including military), colleges, and majors but also financial aid options as well.

Sonny is the eighth grade. In my opinion this program is geared toward high schoolers as opposed to middle schoolers. Sonny was not really interested in doing this program, I think because he is not thinking about his future yet. We did not finish the entire program because we have had a lot of intrenet issues with our current provider.


Price: $19.95 for a three-month license, $24.95 for a six-month license.



*I was given a free download from ACT in order to write a review. I was not paid for my review and am not required to write a positive review.

Monday, November 2, 2009

abcteach membership





abcteach has over 5000+ FREE printable worksheets and activities on their website.  Members will have access to over 35,000 printable worksheets and activities.  But that is not all! 

Members will have:

*ad free pages

*a large number of clip art images

*various range of grade levels and subjects

*new worksheets and added weekly

*customer service to help with your schooling needs

Whatever you are studying I am sure they have.  There are science worksheets, printable handwriting sheets, crossword puzzles, plus more!

Right before Columbus day I decided to look for some worksheets to make a unit study for Ben and Julianna to learn about Columbus.  I was able to print off several activities for them to use in our study of Christopher Columbus.  They are both talking about what we learned.

In the beginning of October I decided to try the crossword generator~ this is a fabulous program on abcteach that allows you to create your own crossword puzzles and word searches etc..~  I made Ben a crossword puzzle for General Conference with church related words.  He thought it was so cool that I could put in clues and the words that go with them and then the program made the crossword.  I can see how this would be helpful for spelling words, vocabulary words, etc...

Please check out this introductory page as it will help answer questions you may have.

Remember you can get 5000+ FREE printables without the membership, BUT with a membership you will have access to over 35,000 printables for $40 for a one year membership or $70 for a two year membership.

Check out what other TOS crew members had to say about abcteach.

Friday, October 30, 2009

Virginia Scents and Soaps

Virginia Scents and Soaps


When I found out we were going to have the oportunity to review products for this company I was so excited.  As a member of the TOS crew we mostly review homeschooling products.  Imagine my surprise to find this company on the list.  Virginia Scents and Soaps is owned and started by a homeschooling family.  You see, it started out as a fun project to go along with their early American studies.  They enjoyed it so much that the Spargur family decided to go into the soap making business.  The Spargurs researched and experimented until they came up with the best handmade soaps on the market.  They are all natural and made with olive oil.  See here for more information on soap.

I for one like to support families who homeschool, but only if their products and services are great!  I plan on purchasing some Virginia Scents and Soaps for friends and family for Christmas.

This company sent each of us on the TOS crew 3 complimentary bed and breakfast sized bars of soap (oatmeal, milk, & honey, fresh orange, & coconut lemongrass), one shampoo bar (ginger lime), and one sample laundry soap kit.

We loved all of the soap bars.  I am not sure we have a favorite~ too difficult to choose.  I have really oily hair so the regular shampoo bar did not really work for me.  But I do not hold that against them, I have to use 4-5 different shampoos every week to keep my hair balanced.  I do want to try the oily champoo bar though.

Making homemade laundry detergent is kind of fun.  The children think it is really neat to make it instead of buying it from the store.  I really think you should try it out and let your children help.  It is pennies a load and gets your clothes clean too!

I am so excited to try some of their other fragrances especially the holiday fragrances like peppermint.   They also have a pet shampoo bar that I want to order for our Bassett Hound, Rosie.

Check out what the other TOS crew members had to say here.

As usual I was sent these products for free to review for TOS and am not paid in any way for my reivew.  My review is my opinion amd I am not required to write a positive review.


Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Bible Charts & Maps

The Amazing Bible World History Timeline



The Amazing Bible Timeline is not in your usual format.  I have only seen ones that are long.  This one is larger than poster sized, with the timeline in round shape. 

I am not a history buff, but my husband is.  I found this confusing and not really wanting to spend a whole lot of time looking and studying it.  It is quite large and because of that I was unable to hang it up. I kept it rolled up in the family room.  It was not a very useful place to store it.  I personally to not care for timelines. 
It was interesting to see it all in one place.  If you are one that enjoys timelines you may like this.

Price: $29.97
Right now if you order you will receive FREE~
Interactive Maps of the Holy Lands and Digital Amazing Bible Timeline

For a limited time get 2 for $49.97

See what other TOS crew members had to say about this as well.

Sue Patrick's Workbox System

by Sue Patrick
E~book



Have you ever wished your homeschool day was more organized?  Do you wish your children were more self motivated?  I for one am not that organized with our school day.  I frequently day dream about a "perfect" day, one where my children happily work on their schoolwork first thing in the mornng and are finished by noon or so. 

I was sent a free copy of  Sue Patrick's Workbox System e-Book to review for the TOS crew.  I read through the entire e-book that evening.  I hoped that this may be the answer to my problems.  Reading through the book I was so excited to see some things that I was dying to try. 

Sue Patrick's Workbox system works by helping you organize and prepare the day.  The table of contents includes:
The Benefits of Homeschooling, How We Teach and Train, What the Workbox System is, Who the System is for, How a Day Works, Curriculum and Material, Breaking Down Curriculum for Success, Life Skill Foundations, The built in Discipline of the Workbox System, Problem Solving and Specialization of Your Child’s Education, Family Dynamics and Homeschooling, and Tips and Tricks and Problem Solving.




Watching the video explanation on Sue's Workbox System is very beneficial and I encourage you to watch it.

There are several resources you can purchase to start your journey. The User Guide (which is what I received) is available in either an eBook or paperback for $19.95 or the book with 4 months of consultation with Sue for $119.95. On Sue's website there are several downloads, to make your own materials, that are free when you purchase the book.  If you prefer you can purchase the pre-assembled material kits for 1 child for $12.75 or for 2 children for $24.  There are also center packages for grades 1-3, 3-5, and 4-6 available for $40 each set.  There are also a few different complete starter packages as well.



There are various aspects of this program which I love, but there are other ideas that just did not work for us for various reasons.  I do hope that in the future I will be able to implement the entire plan. 
Please check out what other TOS crew members had to say about Sue Patrick's Workbox System.

Monday, October 19, 2009

Sarah's Wish

by Jim Baumbarger
Sarah's Books



Sadly, Sarah is pushed into the adult world long before she should be.  With her mother killed in a tragic wagon accident Sarah is left an orphan.  She desperately wants a family and prays about that daily.  Sarah is bound and determined to keep the secret her mother entrusted to her.

Sarah's Wish takes place in the United States during the 19th century.  Runaway slaves are in existence as well as bounty hunters out to catch them.    During this time, the underground railround comes in to play creating compassion and heroes out of ordinary people.

We loved this book!  It is a wonderful book to introduce children to slavery and the underground railroad.  This is the first in a 3 book series about Sarah. To read excerpts from all of the books see here. 

Jim Baumbarger sent people on the TOS crew a free copy of Sarah's Wish to read and review.  Not only did he send us a book but he also personally autographed each book.  We also received an email newsletter.  What a great vendor to have had the privilege to work with. 

To purchase Sarah's Wish for $9.99 with free shipping click here.

To read the other TOS crew members' reviews click here.

*I was sent a free copy of this book to read and review.  This review is my opinion and I am not compensated in any way for my opinion nor am I required to give a positive review.

The Jewel of His Heart


Heart of the West #2                                  
by Maggie Brendan
Revell Publishing

                                                                                                         



What a fun read!  This is one I could not put down.


Josh McBride is a new sheepherder in Montana.  He comes from Colorado where his father is a cattle rancher.  Josh is trying to make his own way the way he wants.


Juliana Brady's mother is dead and her father abandoned her and her mother 10 years previous to become a miner.  She is poor and in need of a job desperately.  She finds a job at a local newspaper office that she really loves. 


Juliana and Josh meet and start seeing each other regularly, however when Josh tells her about the saphires he found on his land Josh may lose Juliana forever.  Juliana does not want to be invloved with a man that will become a miner and possibly leave her for the next big find.


This is a fun book that has a few suprises in store for its readers. 


*I was send a free copy of this book to read and review.  I am not compensated in any way for my review and am not required to write a positive review.




Available October 2009 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Giveaway!!

A fellow blogger has a really great giveaway on her blog~ raisingolives.com

check it out:  http://raisingolives.com/2009/10/elefun-and-friends-giveaway/comment-page-2/#comment-4368

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Sound of Sleigh Bells

by Cindy Woodsmall
Waterbrook Publishing

GIVEAWAY!!!  Post a comment on this review and you may win your very own copy!!

Hearing the sound of sleigh bells gives Beth wonderful feelings.  However Jonah feels the opposite.  These two Amish young people come from different Amish districts but it becomes a matter of fate that they meet.
Beth is a single Amish girl with a secret~ about her dead fiance.  Will she ever be free of the terrible secret?  Lizzy, Beth's Aunt, thinks Jonah may be the answer to Beth's mourning of her fiance.  Lizzy is worried about her and wants to see her happily married, unlike herself who has remained unmarried.
Jonah is a woodcarver whom Beth desires to help sell his products.  When they start writing to each other some healing flows into Beth's heart.  However Beth thinks she is writing to an elderly gentleman, not to a fellow single man!!
This book was delightful to read.  I enjoyed the sweet healing that came to Beth and the innocent love story contained within its pages.  Although I do not have any secrets hidden, I did appreciate learning of the importance of forgiving oneself.  To purchase your own copy go to this link:




Don't forget to post a comment below to be entered into the drawing for a FREE copy!



Note~I was sent a free copy of this book by random house to read and review.  I am not compensated for my review.  My review contains my own opinions.  I am not required to write a positive review.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Guardian Angel Publishing

Guardian Angel Publishing





e-Books~
*No Bones About It~the Sum of Our Parts Series
*Rainbow~Sheep
*Andy and Spirit Go to the Fair
*Gifts from God
*Earthquake


I received 5 free ebooks to review from Guardian Angel Press. 

                                                     
         

Rainbow Sheep

This cute little story is about a shepardess who befriends a rainbow.  The rainbow is sad and the girl tries to cheer her up.  The rainbow cries tears and turns the sheep different colors.  Very cute for little ones.  Geared to ages 4-10 years.  At teh end of the book is a project on learning how to felt. 
It is 24 pages.  $5 for download $9.95 + shipping for paper copy.  There are also other options as well, see the link above.

The only thing that I did not like about this book is that I wished that the picture came after the reading instead of before it.  We would look at a picture then read about it and then end up scrolling up to see the picture in more detail.



This book is full of pictures, scriptures, and sayings.  It is not a story book or an educational book, it is an inspirational book.  There are lovely pictures inclueded with the various quotes.  

I am not a fan of a book full of pictures of people i do not know with quotes etc..  But if you this is lovely and would be agreat gift. (in the paper copy form)  I really do not like it being an ebook, because it was not a storybook or educational and was hard to "snuggle" with my kiddos.
$5 for the eBook download or $10.95 + shipping for the print copy.





Andy and his horse, Spirit, find some great fun at the fair.  They learn to overcome challenges and become heroes in the process. 
My son, Ben, read this book to his sister and my daycare kiddos.  It was probably a bit long for them (they range in ages 1-4). It was great reading practice for Ben.  It also has a great messge. $5 for an ebook download $10.95 + shipping for printed copy.

Con~  It is really hard to snuggle up with an ebook,  my suggestion would be to buy the print copy of this story book so you can snuggle up on the couch with the little one.



Have you ever wanted to memorize the bones in your body, but found it too daunting?  Well, this is not only educational but really fun.  Study the bones, take quizzes, and learn fun little facts.
This is just one of the books in The Sum of Our Parts series.
$5 for the eBook download & $10.95 + shipping for the print copy.
We really had a fun time with this book and enjoyed it.


Earthquake

This book won an honorable mention at the 2009 Green Book festival.

This book contains nearly everything you and your child ever wanted to know about earthquakes.  What causes an earthquake?  When can we do to prepare for one?  There are lots of fun tidbits.  There is even some experiments included! 

Earthquake is well worth the $5 for the eBook.  Get a printed copy for $10.95 + shipping.

Overall these were really good books.  However I am not a fan of eBooks, I would much rather pay a bit extra to get a printed copy.

Do you want to read what the other TOS reviewers had to say?  Click here to find out!!


Monday, October 12, 2009

Bonnie Terry Learning

The Math Zone game
by Bonnie Terry Learning




The Math Zone game is divided into two levels.  The first one is for ages 7-9 and is the one that Ben played.  It involved smaller numbers for subtraction, addition, multiplication, and division.  The second level is for ages 9-adult.  This is the one for Sonny and a great review for me! It has larger numbers for subtraction, addition, multiplication, and division. On one side of the first set of cards has two numbers and the other side of the card gives each of the answer for addition, subtraction, division, and multiplication.  The other set of cards tells you which math function you need to do for your turn.  You can set a time for as long as you want to play or you can set a number of points.  There are also bonus cards that give you more math to practice.

Ben (4th grade) and I had a fun time playing this game.  It helped Ben reinforce his math skills.  Ben even played this game with Grandma!  It is a great educational game you can fit in daily as fun math time. 

The Math Zone is priced at $12.  I am not sure I would spend that much on the game, (just because I am to frugal), but it really is a fun educational game.

There is also a 60 day money back guarantee on all of Bonnie Terry Learning products.

Check out what the other TOS crew members said about it too!

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Nature Friend Magazine

Nature Friend Magazine






What a gorgeous magazine! The pictures are amazing in this magazine. The content goes pretty in depth as well.  My boys and I learned many new things about nature with a Christian perspective.  It was enjoyable to read the role of Christ and Heavenly Father in a nature magazine. 


They publish 12 issues per year with 6 of those issues geared toward older children.  This gives a good balance for all ages of children (and adults too).

Each magazine is focused on one topic through out the magazine, which helps with children who want to learn more or those with distractions. 

The cost:

Magazine subscription $36 per year
Study guides are an additional $24 per year.

I do think the price is very steep and I would not be able to afford it. I really think that the study guide should come with the magazine.  In my opinion it is not worth an added $24to the price of the magazine.  Sure, it has some fun activities but with the cost of the study guides being almost the cost of another magazine subscription it does not seem worth it.  Even if I had the money I probably would not purchase it as I feel the price tag to be too high.

To receive a
I was sent S$3 off discount use the code BLOG93 when you check out.  Offer is only good through November 30, 2009!

We received the September 2009 and October 2009 Nature Friend for free to review from Nature Friend magazine.  (through The Old Schoolhouse review crew).

To see what my fellow blog reviewers thought about Nature Friend see here.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Educational Diagnostic Prescriptive Services (EDUDPS)

Educational Diagnostic Prescriptive Services (EDUDPS)

~Roots & Fruits~
~Career Planning~
~Write With the Best~


Educational Diagnostic Prescriptive Services is a website that offers homeschool curriculum at an affordable cost.  They specilize in productsfor dyslexic children although all of their products will work for any child.  I personally think that the name of the company sounds a bit scary and confusing, but I have been impressed with their products.  I was given these three products to try:

Roots & Fruits
eBook~$14.98 **but is on sale right now for $11.25!
Printed pages no binding~$17.48
Comb binded~$19.98

What a fun name for this curriculum!  When  Ben and I did the first lesson he understood what the "roots" were but wanted to know what the "fruits" were.  I explained that the fruits were the words which had the roots in it, you have to have roots to make fruits!  This curriculum is a vocabulary study the Latin and Greek roots in English form.  There are 673 different roots and prefixes.  It can be used by kindergartners as well as middle to high school students.  This will help your child in SAT and ACT exams as well as understanding the meaning of words.  We have really enjoyed this and look forward to continuing with it throughout the year.

Write With the Best Vol. 1
eBook~$19.95**but is on sale right now for $14.95!
Printed pages no binder~$22.45
3 ring binder~$24.95

This curriculum is geared toward 3rd through 12th graders.  Volume 1 is meant for an 18 week run with volume 2 taking another 18 weeks.  The set would be enough for a full year.  If you want to you can use volume 1 for the entire year and use volume 2 for the next year~ if your child is new to writing or struggles a bit then this would be the better way to go.
What I liked the most about this curriculm is that it takes it in chunks and is not overwhelming.  Both of my boys struggle a little bit with writing and sometimes things we have tried in the past was too much all at once.  There is also a daily guide to follow.  I also appreciated the whys behind good writing.  I asked Ben why he liked the books he read.  He mentioned that they were descriptive.  I told him yes, being descriptive is important in writing.  We talked about how the sentance, "The cat sat on her bed." compared to "The fat, fluffy, long haired white Persian cat nestled on her soft, warm, pink bed."  WOW what a difference, can you see what the first one looks like in your mind?  What about the second one?  I never would have had that conversation with him without this curriculum to guide me a long.

Career Guide
eBook~$34.95**but is on sale right now for $26.20!
Soft cover~$39.95

Ever wonder what your middle school or high school student might want to be when he/she "grows up?"  Me too.  I was so excited to be chosen to review this product.  My son, Sonny, is in the 8th grade this year.  He changes what he wants to "be" every few months.  The Career Guide has four self guided assessments for your child to complete.  This will help you determine the correct classes to teach, jobs to work, or colleges to look into.  This can keep your child focused when it comes to college~ no more wasting time (and money!) taking classes to see if you like it or not!  Sonny had a hard time answering some of the questions but he really liked it.  He is just an indecisive kiddo.


I was impressed with the curriculum I received but not the form.  It was sent to me in an electronic download.  You are allowed to save it to your computer, but it does not come in adobe.  The program only allows you to print twice.  The customer service is great because my printer jammed and I tried to print again and it would not go through so I had lost both of my prints and had to contact them to recieve it again.  Also, ifyou do not save it within a certain amount of time to your computer it is locked and you can not open it up.  I feel that if you purchase a product it should not be such a hassle to open and print it.  I would suggest spending a few more dollars and have the print form sent to you.
On the website there are also free downloads for a portion of the above books, so you can see in this is something that will work for your children.
Do not be intimidated by the name Educational Diagnostic Prescriptive Services.  These products really are wonderful. 
I have been wishing for a product that can help my children improve their writing.  Writing is such an important part of education and life that I knew I needed to find something that would work.  Thank you to EDUDPS for creating your products and for giving TOS a chance to review your products! 
Click here for more TOS reviews of these products.